Bar Sur Loup Review

Bar Sur Loup, North Balwyn is a European Cafe with French flair. Bright lighting, wooden furniture and flooring as well as french trinkets and paintings adorn the walls to entice you within.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.41.56 AM
Light Wooden Chairs and tables
Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.33.08 AM
Traditional Silver Ice-Cream pots

After living in Bar Sur Loup, France for a number of years, owner Kathy Licciardi decided to ‘open a little part of France in Balwyn North’. They offer well priced ($40 for all my food and coffee), quality food from French sweet and savoury crepes, to authentic Belgian Liege Waffles as well as baguettes and tartines (open sandwiches).

I started my day with a Short Macchiato at the bar ‘european style’ as they called it, while I waited for a table.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.41.36 AM
Catching up on some reading

The coffee was rich, smooth and well extracted. The Barista knows whats up! I then got my self a table and decided to order the ‘Egg & Bacon Crepe’. How could I turn down such a fusion of western and european cuisine! I hear broken english with French and Italian accents coming from the kitchen and not long after, my crepe arrives. I made a great choice.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.50.41 AM
Egg & Bacon Crepe

The Crepe was crisp and flavoursome. Hollandaise was of a high quality and I felt very content afterwards. Smelling the Belgian waffles though, how could I stop there. I ordered the ‘Le Bar Sur Loup’ waffle; Belgian Chocolate, Fresh Banana, strawberries, home made salted caramel sauce finished with a scoop of ice cream.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.58.24 AM
Double Bar Sur Loup

The waffles were crisp on the outside and soft in the middle, reminding me of my trip to Europe a few years ago. They generous with the fruits (Maybe because they saw me taking photos!) and the home made salted caramel was more than delicious.

Awesome service and atmosphere, great food and coffee but its time to wheel me out of here!

12469555_436459296547352_2955404687467999393_o
White Picket fence and ‘illy’ signage out front
Leave a Reply

